AlterNation - music magazine about Electro, Industrial, EBM, Gothic, Darkwave and more
Dive - Underneath


Belgian electronic pioneer Dirk Ivens unleashes the eagerly awaited new album of his cult project Dive. "Underneath" is another masterpiece of dark minimalist Electro-art.
After a hiatus of more than a decade, Dirk Ivens' project Dive finally returns with a new sign of life. For the new album "Underneath", he has again teamed up with Ivan Iusco and Rafael M. Espinosa. The result is a maelstrom of minimalist Electronica that ranges from fascinating to unsettling: Stripped-bare rhythms, dark, machine-like sequencers, psychotic synth-sounds that are expertly intertwined with cleverly placed noise-attacks and the distinctive, feverishly manic and ghostly raw voice of Dirk Ivens towering above it all.
Some tracks, like the groovy "Far Away" or the hammering "Something" have turned out surprisingly catchy, but as a whole "Underneath" is a menacing behemoth that relentlessly pulls the listener into its dark machine world.
Available from 21 April 2017 by Out Of Line.

1. Underneath
2. Far Away
3. Sacred Skin
4. Let Me In
5. From Behind
6. Something
7. Howling Ground
8. A Man Came
9. Melt
10. I Want You
Author: hellium
Translator: hellium
Source: Out Of Line / 2017-04-18 / News

Newest comments: