AlterNation - music magazine about Electro, Industrial, EBM, Gothic, Darkwave and more
Einstürzende Neubauten

See photos:

Similar artists:

Einstürzende Neubauten
Einstürzende Neubauten - logo

Einstürzende Neubauten
Einstürzende Neubauten

Niemcy / Germany

Date of establishing :

Music genere:
experimental, industrial


Band members:

Blixa Bargeld
Alexander Hacke
N.U. Unruh
Rudolf Moser
Jochen Arbeit 


On 01 April 1980 Blixa Bargeld, N.U. Unruh and FM Einheit started Einstürzende Neubauten and then declared war on all conventional hearing habits with the release of their debut album “Kollaps” (Collapse) in November 1981. Tremendously noise-intensive, rhythmically ritual anti-pop was offered as an antidote for the frightened, paralyzed and media-sedated masses. It was made from a range of instruments carefully beaten together from mostly stolen construction site, scrap yard and do-it-yourself supplies, consisting of steel parts, barrels, drills, hammers, saws and an untuned electric guitar. The sound monster awakened to life was crowned by Bargeld’s blood-curdling screams and feverish texts, impregnated by doomsday fantasies that revolved around ruin and destruction, illness, downfall and death. Precisely this nonconformist mixture would lay the cornerstone for a completely new understanding of music, which would influence e.g. Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, Marilyn Manson and Rammstein.

In subsequent years the team of musical experts, increased by Alexander Hacke and Mark Chung, continued to expand its pioneering sound field experiments with the highly-stylized albums “Zeichnungen des Patienten O.T.” (1983), “1/2 Mensch” (1985), “Fünf auf der nach oben offenen Richterskala” (1987) and “Haus der Lüge” (1989), which also became milestones of the Industrial scene. Einstürzende Neubauten  quickly established themselves as an internationally acclaimed band representing the present and pop culture.

Einstürzende Neubauten  finally opened a new chapter of creative sound discovering activities with “Tabula Rasa” (1993), “Ende Neu” (1996), “Silence Is Sexy” (2000) and “Perpetuum Mobile” (2004). Here, the contrasts between loud and soft, noise and harmony are pushed to the very limits of the frequency spectrums. Sustained by a deceptive quiet and gentleness, in songs like “Die Interimsliebenden,” “Stella Maris” or “Die Befindlichkeit des Landes,” the chief ideologue Blixa Bargeld reveals himself to be at the height of his lyrical creative works: cryptic, pondering around corners and edges, musing.
In 2002, the Einstürzende Neubauten  organized its official website into an epicenter of musical activity – the likes of which has not been seen before. Entire album productions were financed in three stages through a subscription model based on so-called “Supporters.”
Following a successful tour through the United Kingdom, on an extensive world tour with their album “Alles wieder offen” (2007) and then “The Jewels” (2008), the mature avant-garde All-Stars presented themselves in a light that has never before been matched for its intimacy and fragility.

The band consisting of Blixa Bargeld, Alexander Hacke, N.U. Unruh, Rudolf Moser and Jochen Arbeit continues to overcome the borders in search of still undiscovered sound with released in 2014 “Lament” album.