AlterNation - music magazine about Electro, Industrial, EBM, Gothic, Darkwave and more
Kalte Nacht - U R G E

Reads: 667 times


Work on "URGE" lasted two years, resulting in a stylistically and sonically refined explosion of synesthetic experiences from the duo Nikos Konstantinidis and Myrto Stylou from Kalte Nacht. The eight tracks encapsulate key internal moments of this profound journey, using music to convey how these experiences were truly felt, heard, tasted, smelled, and seen. This project embodies a strong desire to co-exist, co-create, and bring hope, nurtured daily by love and conscious actions. It reflects an effort to illuminate our shadowy corners with tenderness and honesty, representing our deepest truths shaped by many unique individuals.
Myrto's beautiful, warm, and variable vocals are like the touch of suede, absolutely hypnotizing, captivating, sometimes seductive, sometimes slightly dark. The album opens with "Runaway," creating a wonderful atmosphere of musical elegance and dynamics. With "In A Wild Wave," we move into darker territories where the vocals take on a theatrical quality, reminiscent of Emese Árvai-Illés from Black Nail Cabaret. A duet between these two artists would be phenomenal!
"Dare To Defy" opens with a restless beat and maintains this pace until the end. The electronically vibrant melody perfectly harmonizes with the accentuated, lyrical vocals. The perfect tempo, catchy melody, singing, and shouts showcase Myrto's exceptional vocal talent. "Howling Waltz" returns to darker areas but is much more mysterious, mystical, deep, and sublime. Strong, inspiring tones resonate wonderfully in every note, with a densely woven sound background that is a real masterpiece. The wonderful bass inserts and vocal duet complement each other perfectly, making it one of my favorites on the album—stylish, eye-catching, and complex.
After this dark and powerful journey, we return to faster dynamics with "The Last Breath," a pulsating, quivering, fast-paced, great song. "Where the Deep Seas Meet" is a standout track, reminiscent of Deine Lakaien for many. The unique sound space, combined with a perfectly balanced beat, creates a sensational effect. The album closes with "Confession," pure sonic poetry that is thought-provoking, nostalgic, and woven from dark, subtle matter enriched with electronic flavors.
In summary, there are no weak songs on this album. This great release by the duo confirms their class and artistic development. Well done Guys, it’s pure beauty!

1. Runaway
2. In A Wild Wave
3. Dare to Defy
4. A Howling Waltz
5. The Last Breath
6. Trust Fall
7. Where the Deep Seas Meet
8. Confession

Release date: 07.06.2024
Label: Cold Transmission
Translator: khocico
Add date: 2024-06-07 / Music reviews

Newest comments: