AlterNation - music magazine about Electro, Industrial, EBM, Gothic, Darkwave and more

Similar artists:

Pigface - logo



Date of establishing :

Music genere:
industrial, industrial rock


Band members:

Martin Atkins (PiL, Ministry, NIN, Killing Joke)
Danny Carey (Tool)
Ogre (Skinny Puppy)
Chris Connelly (Ministry, Murder Inc, Damage Manual)
Genesis P-Orridge (Psychic TV, Throbbing Gristle)
Black Francis (Pixies)
Steve Albini (Big Black, Rapeman, Shellac)
J.G. Thirlwell (Foetus, Clint Ruin, Steroid Maximus)
William Rieflin (Ministry, REM)
Alex Patterson (The Orb)
William Tucker (Ministry, RevCo, KMFDM)
Duncan X (Sheep On Drugs)
Youth (Killing Joke)
Siggi (Sugarcubes)
David Simms (The Jesus Lizard)
Laura Gomel (Thrill Kill Kult)
Louis Svitek (Ministry)
Marston Daley (Thrill Kill Kult)
Joey Santiago (Pixies)
Jim Marcus (Die Warzau)
Edsel Dope (Dope)
Steven Seibold (Hate Dept.)
Atsuko Yamano (Shonen Knife)
Taime Downe (Faster Pussycat)
Krztoff (Bile)
Doug McCarthy (Nitzer Ebb)
Mary Byker (Apollo 440)
Gus Ferguson (Test Dept.)
Algis A. Kiyzs (Swans)
Jamie Duffy (Acumen Nation, DJ? Acucrack)
Marydee Reynolds (Chainsuck)
Leslie Rankine (Ruby)
DJ Lumis
Trent Reznor (Nine Inch Nails)
En Esch (KMFDM, Slick Idiot)
Paul Barker (Ministry)
Flea (The Red Hot Chili Peppers)
Dean Ween (Ween)
David Yow (The Jesus Lizard, Scratch Acid)
M. Gira (Swans, Angels of Light)
Paul Raven (Killing Joke, Prong)
Jared Louche (Chemlab)
Duane Dennison (The Jesus Lizard, Tomahawk)
Lydia Lunch
Charles Levi (Thrill Kill Kult)
FM Einheit (Einsturzende Neubauten)
Wayne Static (Static-X)
Michael Balch (Front Line Assembly)
Chris Randall (Sister Machine Gun)
Jello Biafra (The Dead Kennedys, Lard)
Paul Ferguson (Killing Joke)
Andrew Weiss (Rollins Band)
Chris Vrenna (Tweaker, Nine Inch Nails)
Hanin Elias (Atari Teenage Riot)
Meg Lee Chin
Naoko Yamano (Shonen Knife)
Danielle (GWAR)
Mick Harris (Napalm Death)
Jason McNinch (Lick)
Becky (Lunachicks)
Martin King (Test Dept.)
Curse Mackey (Grim Faeries)
Marc Heal (Cubanate, C-tec)
Chris Haskett (Rollins Band)
Jeff Ward (Nine Inch Nails)
Mark Spybey (Dead Voices on Air)


Pigface is an industrial rock supergroup formed in 1990 by Martin Atkins and Bill Rieflin. Both had drummed with Ministry, and were pleased with the notion of a rock music band with two drummers, rather than the usual one. The duo formed Pigface, and began a revolving-door collaboration with many experimentally-minded musicians, many of whom — especially early on — had recorded for the influential industrial music record label Wax Trax. Trent Reznor was also an early partner, when, due to legal troubles, Nine Inch Nails were prevented from recording under that name. "Suck" — cowritten with and sung by Reznor — was something of an underground hit, and Reznor later rerecorded the song. Rieflin eventually left Pigface, leaving Atkins in charge. The dozens--perhaps hundreds--of musical collaborators to record and perform with Pigface have ensured that each album, and each song, is unique. This practice has, however, led to some negative criticism due to a perceived lack of continuity. Pigface concerts are characterized by high-energy performances. Frequently there will be upwards of 10 people on stage at any time during the show. Not only that but Martin Atkins and the rest of the band love interacting with the audience, and members of the audience are nearly always invited on stage for the encore.