AlterNation - music magazine about Electro, Industrial, EBM, Gothic, Darkwave and more

See photos:

Similar artists:



Szwecja / Sweden

Date of establishing :

Music genere:
industrial, industrial metal


Band members:

Whiplasher - Vocal
Nightmare Industries - ibanez guitar & synth/keyboards
Skinny - dean bass
Bone W Machine - tama drums
Cat - session & live guitar


Stockholm's DEATHSTARS is in fact a metamorphosed version of 1993 founded Heavy Metal act SWORDMASTER, featuring former DISSECTION drummer Ole Ohman and guitarist Emil Nodtveidt (a.k.a. "Nightmare Industries"), the latter being also active with OPHTHALAMIA. DEATHSTARS was fronted by Andreas Bergh ("Whiplasher") and saw Erik "Beast X Electric" Halvorsen on guitar. The band took on both a radical image and change in musical direction for the album 'Synthetic Generation'. The record first surfaced in Sweden during March of 2002 on LED Recordings but would be picked up for European release by the German Nuclear Blast label the following year.
Unfortunately plans to commence recording of a second album in June of 2004 were delayed as, returning home from an appearance at the 'Wave Gotik Treffen' festival in Leipzig, Germany, DEATHSTARS had over $15,000 worth of gear stolen from their tour bus. On a more positive note the band landed the valuable support to the resurrected DISSECTION at their Stockholm Lilla Arenan gig in late October.
DEATHSTARS undertook album recordings in early 2005 at the band's own Black Syndicate Studios for the 'Termination Bliss' opus. In outside activity, both Emil Nodtveidt and bassist Skinny scored production credits on the 2005 DISSECTION album. DEATHSTARS also remixed the track 'Vyperpunk' on Italian Gothic Metal-Industrialists DOPE STARS INC.'s 'Neuromance' album. The band parted ways with guitarist Erik Halvorsen in August, citing "lack of enthusiasm".
In 2006 new guitarist Eric Cat Casino' Backman joined the band.
'Termination Bliss' saw release in January 2006. Limited edition variants added a "Driven On" remix of the track 'Blitzkrieg' by MORTIIS. On November 7, 2008, Deathstars announced on their official Myspace page the full track listing of the newest album, its release date as the 02th February, 2009