AlterNation - music magazine about Electro, Industrial, EBM, Gothic, Darkwave and more
The Birthday Massacre

See photos:

Similar artists:

The Birthday Massacre
The Birthday Massacre - June 2007 - by P.Wilson

The Birthday Massacre
The Birthday Massacre - 2006 - by P.Wilson

Kanada / Canada

Date of establishing :

Music genere:
electronic, Gothic, industrial, Synth-Rock


Band members:

Chibi - Vocals 
Rainbow - Guitar and Programming 
Michael Falcore - Guitar 
Rhim - Drums 
Owen - Keyboards
O.E. - Drums (2001-2003), Bass (2007-Present)

Former members 

Dank - Keyboards (2000-2001) 
Aslan - Bass (2000-2007) 
Adm - Keyboards (2002-2004) 
Brett Carruthers


The Birthday Massacre is a synth rock band, based in Toronto, Canada.[1] The band was officially formed in 1999, known at that time as Imagica, a name which was inspired by a Clive Barker novel - Imajica.

The group originated in London, Ontario under the name Imagica. The group's original line-up consisted of: Chibi (vocals), Rainbow (guitar and programming), Michael Falcore (guitar), and J. Aslan (bass). Dank played live keyboards and O.E. joined the group on live drums. A seven-song limited edition demo was released.

In 2001, Dank left the group, and the others relocated from London to Toronto, Ontario, to begin recording. There, they recorded another limited edition demo, this time with five songs.

Shortly thereafter, the band adopted the name The Birthday Massacre. In July of 2002, The Birthday Massacre independently released a limited edition CD entitled "Nothing and Nowhere." In 2003, Adm joined the band on live keyboards and Rhim on drums. On July 20, 2004, The Birthday Massacre released a nine song EP entitled "Violet," and at the end of the year, re-released "Nothing and Nowhere" with new sleeve artwork. Adm soon left thereafter to explore his own projects. In the fall of 2004, the band was signed to Repo Records in Germany, and released a remastered and expanded version of "Violet" in Europe, including updated album art in a digipak case.

In 2005 the band signed to Metropolis Records and released "Violet" in the U.S.A., Canada, United Kingdom, and most of South America. Owen joined on live keyboards and in August, the band began a series of international tours taking them to Switzerland, Germany, the Netherlands, Hungary, the Czech Republic, and Belgium. Also in August, a DVD consisting of a video for the song "Blue" was released. It also included behind-the-scenes footage, interviews, a studio performance of "Nevermind," as well as live performances of "Violet" and "Video Kid." The centerpiece of the DVD was the Dan Ouellette-directed video for "Blue".

In early 2006, the Birthday Massacre toured North America, playing across Canada, the United States and Mexico on their "Broken Minds" tour. They also played Europe in the summer of 2006.

In June 2007, it was announced that the band was working on a new record with Canadian producer/engineer Dave "Rave" Ogilvie (Producer of many industrial acts such as Skinny Puppy, not to be confused with Kevin Ogilvie frontman of Skinny Puppy) and that bass player Aslan Osiris had left the band for his own project. Aslan has been replaced on bass by former drummer O.E. The demo version of the first single, "Kill the Lights," was released on Vampirefreaks and MySpace for streaming on January 1st, 2007. "Looking Glass" (another single from "Walking With Strangers") was released for streaming on August 1st, 2007 for Vampirefreaks and MySpace.

On September 11th, 2007 the band released "Walking With Strangers" in North America, entering at #10 on the Billboard "Top Heatseekers" chart for September 29th.[2] The album was released in Europe on September 21st and in the UK on 22nd October.

Coming in May 2008 is the "Looking Glass" EP, the second single taken from the album[3], which they will be tour for alongside Mindless Self Indulgence and Combichrist.

In early September 2009, the band posted a blog on their official MySpace announcing that they are going to continue writing and recording the new album and that they are working on a new website with their ex-bassist Aslan.

On September 14, 2010 The Birthday Massacre released the new album, Pins and Needles.

The band shot the video for the first single off the new album for the song "In The Dark" in early July which was directed by Mike Falcore and co-directed by Rodrigo Gudino with his Rue Morgue Cinema team. It premiered on August 28, 2010 as part of Rue Morgue's Festival of Fear and was released to general public on YouTube shortly after